California bans taxpayer-funded travel to Florida, 4 red states over LGBTQ laws

California added five more states, including Florida, to the list of places where state-funded travel is banned because of laws that discriminate against members of the LGBTQ community, the state attorney general announced Monday.

Democratic Attorney General Rob Bonta added Florida, Arkansas, Montana, North Dakota and West Virginia to the list that now has 17 states where state employee travel is prohibited except under limited circumstances. “Make no mistake: We’re in the midst of an unprecedented wave of bigotry and discrimination in this country — and the State of California is not going to support it,” Bonta said.

“These new additions to the state-funded travel restrictions list are about exactly that.  It’s been 52 years to the day since the Stonewall Riots began, but the same fight remains all too alive and well in this country.” Bonta added. State-funded travel restrictions for some states will begin July 1, while others will begin in late-July and even August.

The new restrictions on state-funded travel are allowed under California’s Assembly Bill 1887, which was passed in 2016. Alabama, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, and Texas were the 12 other states already on this list. 



The following two tabs change content below.
Paul, 37, is from Scotland in the UK, but currently lives and works in Bangkok. Paul has worked in different industries such as telemarketing, retail, hospitality, farming, insurance, and teaching, where he works now. He teaches at an all-girls High School in Bangkok. “It’s a lot of work, but I love my job.” Paul has an active interest in politics. His reason for writing for FBA is to offer people the facts and allow them to make up their own minds. Whilst he believes opinion columns have their place, it is also important that people can have accurate news with no bias.

Leave a Reply