New York becomes 6th state to ban child marriages

Governor Andrew Cuomo signed legislation banning marriages involving a minor.

“Children should be allowed to live their childhood and I thank the many legislators and advocates who worked diligently to advance this measure and further prevent forced marriages in this state,” Cuomo said in a statement. The legislation makes New York the sixth state to ban the practice. Since 2017, a NY law raised the age of marriage consent from 14 to 18, however, 17-year-olds were permitted to marry upon “parental and judicial consent.”

Senator Julia Salazar sponsored the bill, she said, “Regardless of maturity level, minors lack sufficient legal rights and autonomy that they need to protect them if they enter a marriage contract before becoming adults. The vast majority of minors who enter a marriage are teenage girls, and getting married before adulthood often has devastating consequences for them”

In 30 days, the legislation will take effect on licenses and unofficial marriages. According to the non-profit Stop Child Marriages, nearly 300,000 American children entered marriages between 2000 and 2018. Delaware, Minnesota, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island are the five other states where child marriage is banned.



The following two tabs change content below.
Antoinette is a community college student in Sacramento, California. She is a Politics Editor at Fact Based America, a correspondent for Campus Reform, and a student journalist. She previously worked for Turning Point USA as a High School Coordinator.

Leave a Reply