Former Press Secretary Sarah Huckabee Sanders announces campaign for Governor of Arkansas

Sarah Huckabee Sanders, the former Press Secretary for the Trump Administration, has officially announced her campaign for Governor of Arkansas.

Former Press Secretary Sarah Huckabee Sanders launched her campaign to succeed Governor Hutchinson. Sanders promises to lower the state’s Income Tax Rates as well as stand with law enforcement. In her video announcing her candidacy, which was posted on Twitter as well as on her website, she promised to fight back against “The Radical Environmental Policies such as the Green New Deal that threaten to destroy so many jobs.” 

Huckabee Sanders has secured multiple endorsements in her endeavors from notable figures such as Donald Trump, Mike Pompeo, Mike Huckabee and Matt Gaetz. All of those are prominent figures in the modern world of conservatives and with those endorsements, Huckabee Sanders will likely be able to unite many Trump Republicans inside of Arkansas. Leslie Rutledge, the incumbent Attorney General of Arkansas, as well as Tim Griffin, the Lieutenant Governor of Arkansas, have also declared their candidacies for Governor. Should Huckabee Sanders win the election, she would be the first female Governor of Arkansas.

In 2014, Republican William “Asa” Hutchinson defeated Democratic Nominee and Congressman Mike Ross for the position of Governor of Arkansas with 55% of the popular vote. In 2018, he won a landslide reelection taking over 65% of the popular vote. He managed to gain the largest margin of victory for a Republican candidate in Arkansas state history. He also made an attempt to run for Governor in 2006 and initially was trailing behind three-term Lieutenant Governor Winthrop Paul Rockefeller, who was favored in polls. Rockefeller withdrew from the primaries and later died due to a blood disorder in early 2006, and thus, Hutchinson went on to win the primaries, but was defeated in the general election by former Attorney General of Arkansas and Democratic Nominee, Mike Beebe. Beebe went on to serve a two term governorship. After winning in 2014 however, Hutchinson went on to serve a two term governorship.




Leave a Reply